Race Report – WTCC Series – Race 2 – Round 3 & 4

Los Pollos Hereinos

So here we go on the first coupe of races for me in in this new series, if you missed the details of this series check my blog I did looking at this series here.

Round 3

Track: Circuit Of Americas East

Laps: 10 – Sprint – Not Pitting

Game: Forza 6

Grid: Random

Damage: Cosmetic

So here we go at the first race in this new series for myself, prior to this race I wasn’t comfortable in this car and I hadn’t gelled with it so missing the first 2 rounds due EGX and a wedding reception may be wasn’t a bad thing for me. After practicing with this car more and sorting the tune out and quickly fell in love with the car and started to get used to how it works. This track was a strange one to get used to but once I knew how it worked I was on point for this race, if anyone hasn’t checked out this variation of the track go and check it out because it is just awesome. From the start you head up the hill then you cut in early for a sharp left hand corner then you have a couple of esses followed by another left and a long straight down to a wide but sharp hair pin left and then a run back up the hill. The track is short but offers great racing and it feels great when you hook up a lap.

The Race:

I knew I was on for a good race having put in some of the quickest laps in practice sessions. Due to the grid been random I just needed to wait and see what happened. I started in around 14th place for this race which wasn’t too bad but I had a lot of work to do but out of 22 races on the track it wasn’t too bad. The first corner was a little scrappy but I managed to pick my way through the mess and pick up a couple of places. The rest of the cars where bunched up a lot so I just took my time for the packs to start to get some space until I could start my attack. The Audi I am driving has awesome breaks so I was able to get a few places under breaking but the last corner hairpin quickly became my thing in this race to overtake people here. I think I made up most of my places this way. A few people didn’t see it coming and I just slipped right by.

The rest of race was pretty much the same and I managed to finish 6th in the end which I was really happy with and also getting one of the quickest laps in the race. Now on to the endurance race in round 4.

Round 4

Track: Bathurst

Laps: 35 – Endurance – Must Pit

Game: Forza 6

Grid: Reverse From Round 3

Damage: Cosmetic

This is one of the toughest races I have had in such a long time. First of all I made a change to the break balance for the tune I was using for COTA which made the car so much better to drive. For some reason I didn’t do this for Bathurst because I forgot which meant that the car’s rear kicked out on the downhill section when pressing the break. Not good but had to deal with it.

I could have have a better start to the race on the parade lap coming up to the final corner we all backed up getting around the narrow corner and could see a queue in front of me so I slowed down but people behind me didnt see the same thing and I got rear ended and spun me out which meant I lost places.

From there my race started ok, I managed to pick up a few places and then lost a few places under breaking. I had an awesome battle for a fair few laps with Broc for about 5 or so laps until I ran wide after the main straight and got myself in to all sorts of mess. From then on my race was pretty meh, in around 18th place with Outlaw who was having a worse race then me. I caught up to a couple of people then made another mistake and lost time to them. The only saving grace for me was that about 5 people where kicked from the race so myself and Outlaw picked up a few places that way but it’s not really a good thing even more so when Stella got kicked on around lap 30.


Leave a comment